Snippets of the garden at Acorn Bank, Temple Sowerby

Cherub and dolphin

Cherub and dolphin

Here are a brief selection of images from the small formal gardens I have been out surveying on the National Trust property at Acorn Bank, near Penrith, Cumbria. Unfortunately the weather was seasonally gloomy and there was a distinct lack of exciting plants and foliage as the gardens are now closed for maintenance and sprucing up ready for the 2014 season. The photos are really just snippets of detail that caught my eye as I wandered around. I will have to revisit the property in Spring/Summer next year when the garden is back in bloom and the nearby restored corn mill is also open.

4 thoughts on “Snippets of the garden at Acorn Bank, Temple Sowerby

  1. Great place – we worked on the Corn Mill in the 90s and my husband designed the interpretation panels at that time but they will be out of date now with all the work that has gone on since. Sally

    Reply
    • I didn’t manage to get inside the mill so I will go back again in spring when the gardens reopen. I did see the old photos of it before renovation and it really was a mess. They have contractors in at the moment renovating the barn and pigsty in the mill range so it should look really good when they finish it.

      Reply

Please feel free to leave me a reply

