Welcome

Hi there and welcome to my, as yet, pretty empty blog. This is just a quick post to explain how the blog got started and where we go from here.

Snowdonia Ale please!

As an introduction I would say I have been slogging my way out in the wild since 2001, for the most part undertaking landscape archaeology projects in northern England and Wales (with a bit in Scotland) . In all of that time, as with every other archaeologists, I have often been asked the questions ‘Have you found any treasure?’, closely followed by ‘Have you been on Time Team?’, and between gnashed teeth I can honestly say negative to both questions. That is because I look at lumps and bumps on the ground, rarely picking up my trowel in anger to ineffectually prod at the earth. I look for any surface evidence of past human activity that has left tangible archaeological monuments, settlements, field-systems, and in some instances whole landscapes behind. That is mostly not what Joe Public understand as ‘Treasure’ but with a bit of explanation about landscapes that often changes their perception and I get a ‘Wow that sounds like a really interesting job!’.

Being an arch procrastinator, and not the greatest self-publicist I have shied away from letting people know the ins and outs of all the varied and interesting jobs I have done and am in the process of undertaking, as part of my job as a Project Officer working for Oxford Archaeology North. Hopefully this blog will enlighten people to what is happening out there in my corner of the world.

Please feel free to leave me a reply

